Posted by: DarkEyedJunc0 | December 25, 2010

The Challenge: 200 Lifebirds by the end of the decade

As my passion for birding budded this year, so came the obsession of working on my lifelist. Throughout the years, I recorded random birds that I’ve seen in my travels… a Northern Gannet here, a Scrub Jay there… but now came time to sit down and track.

By my records, I had 34 lifebirds (a very conservative but official number) recorded prior to May 31, 2010. Since then, I have added 165 birds, and stand at 199 life birds.
My challenge for tomorrow – “score” my 200th lifebird on Christmas Eve. We shall see what the forecasted NorthWestern winds will blow in. *fingers crossed*

~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~

Despite scouring Sandy Hook for Saw Whets, Lesser Scaup and the Orange Crowned Warblers that are supposedly around, I still reside at 199 lifebirds. Well! Maybe tomorrow?

December 24, 2010 9:38 PM
~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~
Christmas Day brought lots of running around to church, my best friend’s house, etc, and no opportunity for birding. Tomorrow’s Raritan Bay Christmas Bird Count has been cancelled due to the impending Blizzard watch. I am trying to squeeze in a chance at seeing #200.

December 25, 2010 10:19 PM
Leave a Reply

Categories

