Posted by: DarkEyedJunc0 | January 18, 2011

Buntings and Horned Larks and Longspurs- OH MY!

Sandy Hook was “off the hook” as they say! The highlight was several groups composed mainly of Snow Buntings, decked out in their cinnamon youth finest. Mixed in were some Horned Larks – neat little birds, which are probably up there with my favorites. So of course, I had to weed through those guys and look for a Lapland Longspur. My birding partner didn’t get why I kept weeding out, and I explained the relationships of these three birds – sure enough, I found one wihich was streaky and pink-billed. My birding partner discounted the finding, but when I got home, there was photo confirmation that there was a Lapland Longspur at the hook – and it sure looked a lot like the bad boy I saw mixed in!  WOOT WOOT!   #207 Baby!

Leave a Reply

Categories

