Posted by: DarkEyedJunc0 | February 8, 2011

Day 4: Not leaving the Gulf ;)

I woke up early to head over to the airport and decided, simply put, I’m not leaving. I extended my logistics for another day (with a late flight, I bought myself a day and a half.) The rest, as they say, is history.

I kicked off the day at the Biloxi lighthouse and pier. Another reminder of Hurricane Katrina is the claimed “keeper’s house.” The lighthouse is a neat one, located right in the middle of route 90 (yes, in the middle of traffic.) The pier brought great looks at gulls (laughing of various ages, ring-billed and an uncommon to the region juvie lesser blackback (posted on the boards.))

I mostly spent the day, taking a ride back to Alabama, to visit the Bass Pro Shop at Spanish Fort.

The car bird highlight was a fishing Bald Eagle and the other standard birds too!

Shopping was a bust, and I survived being pulled over by a Mississippi state trooper who was more curious what a NJ girl with Texas plates was doing (he called me sweetie and let me go. UGGH!)

On the way back to Biloxi, I decided to stop and try for the cranes again… No luck on Mississippi Sandhills but I did catch 8 Greater Sandhills in a cow pasture!

Cool end of a day!

Leave a Reply

Categories

