Posted by: DarkEyedJunc0 | February 10, 2011

Day 6: Red-cockaded woodpecker: YES!

I got it! I got red-cockaded woodpecker today! Yay!

After a girlie day of spa and retail therapy, I headed back to DeSoto forest, and got terribly lost when my GPS signal died right in the middle of God’s country.(cue banjo music). I finally found my way back to Latimer, MS (I was COUNTIES away, no joke). I found the painted trees again (that indicate they are “colony bird trees”) and tried to pull over to the side, except the rental car ended up stuck in the mud (did the banjos just get louder?) I prayed to whoever the patron saint of mud is and, after a few minutes, worked my way out.

Red Cockaded Woodpecker Colony Trees

I parked on the other (much more level and dry) side of the road, and within 20 minutes, a duet of loud squeak toys flew over and landed on the “painted” trees- OMG! Red-cockaded woodpeckers!

Life bird #223 located right on a marked tree… Why can’t they all be that easy?

I guess this is it! The last- “last night” in the Gulf Coast (after all, there have been THREE, thus far.) 😦

My last sunset over Biloxi (for now)

I have a funny feeling I will make it a point to return! 😆

Leave a Reply

Categories

