Posted by: DarkEyedJunc0 | July 24, 2011

On the way to 300….

With just one more week to go in my quest to reach 300 in one year of birding, this weekend brought four more “lifers” since the White Ibis. That brings the total of the “LUCKY 7” to 5 out of 7. 🙂

A trip to Bombay Hook, DE on Saturday helped “life” three beautiful, new shorebirds.

lifebird #295 - American Avocet (Bombay Hook, DE) Sat. Jul 23, 2011

lifebird #296 - Black-Necked Stilt (Bombay Hook, DE) Sat. Jul 23, 2011

lifebird #297 - Stilt Sandpiper (somewhere in the mess of shorebirds) (Bombay Hook, DE) Sat. Jul 23, 2011

And Sunday, I lifed a continuing Wilson’s Phalarope at Brig (finally successful after two attempts.)

lifebird #298 - Wilson's Phalarope (left) (EB Forsythe - Brig) Sun. Jul 24, 2011

I know it’s going to be down the wire, but I am ready for the challenge.  This experience has truly made me a better birder, and helps me appreciate the beauty of each and every bird. While I look forward to the ‘pressure’ being off, part of me is still quietly planning the next 100  😉

Leave a Reply

Categories

